Talk to an agent: (213) 290-9179
Press play below to listen to our audio commercial:

California DMV Mandated DWI and DUI Laws

The California DMV, in coordination with the courts, set the laws and their penalties for DWI and DUI. Both have first, second and third penalty levels. Below are described certain conditions and the penalties of three levels.

Limits for Concentration of Alcohol in Blood: A urine, breath, or blood test measures your blood alcohol concentration (BAC). Illegal limits are:

•             0.08% and above for most drivers

•             0.04% for commercial driver license (CDL) holders

•             0.01%& above for less than 21 people and those who are on probation for DUI.

When an officer doubts the driver to be impaired, he/she have to go through blood or urine test in order to determine the alcohol level in blood.

Medication: The law of California does not distinguish among prescription, over-the-counter (OTC), and illegal drugs. Even if the driver has taken allergy medicine, he can face DUI charges in Los Angeles. Therefore, it is advised to find the side effects of any medicine before getting on the driving seat. Californian does not spare the dizziness due to the side effects even.

Penalties: First offense DUI penalties are very stiff. The driver might:

•             Be sentenced to up to six months in jail.

•             Fined anywhere between $390 and $1,000

•             Pay a penalty equal to approximately three times the amount of fine.

•             Six-month license suspension

•             Depending on the BAC test results, the offender might be required to complete DUI program.

•             Pay a reissue fee of $125 for reinstating the driver’s license.

•             File an SR-22 (proof of financial responsibility) with the DMV.

Law of Ignition Interlock: As of July 2010, those convicted in Alameda County, Tulare County, Sacramento County, and Los Angeles Country is required to install an ignition interlock device in their vehicles. It is required by the first time offenders and by the repeaters as well. This device checks the blood alcohol content before the driver starts the vehicle. If the blood content level is below the legal limit only then the driver starts the car.

2nd & 3rd Penalty Convictions: Subsequent offense LA DUI penalties for the second and third times are that the driver can face a license suspension for two or four years. In case the driver is taking the DUI course, he might be permitted for driving the vehicle until he has IID (ignition interlock device). A restricted license is provided to the offenders so that they can drive from and to the DUI course. If someone gets injured or killed, the driver can be sent to jail for 25 years to life.

Underage Drivers: It is illegal to have alcohol in the vehicle unless the driver is employed for this purpose or accompanied by parents or guardian.

Limits of Underage BAC: A BAC reading of 0.01% or higher gets the driver arrested and suspension of driving license. The offender gets a temporary license in order to come and go from the DUI course.

Restricted License: Offenders convicted for the first time and enrolled in a DUI program can apply for the restricted license this will allow them to drive to, from work, and to the DUI course classes.

The California DMV has set those penalties for DWI/DUI offenders to avoid maximum accidental mishaps. Auto insurance companies have to follow these laws while building up their own packages. In order to get the best package with suitable rates, enter your ZIP in the above bar on our web page and compare what different insurance companies are offering you.